Philippians 4:19 {God will supply my needs}

“And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.” ~Philippians 4:19

Although I knew that God wanted me to move to Minneapolis, I had no idea when I would be moving, where I would work or live, nor where I would come up with the money to do so. Normally I would have worried, thinking that I had to figure all of this out, but I didn’t. God already had a plan, and I knew that all I had to do was trust him, and he would supply my needs. I originally thought that it could be at least a month, if not more. My brother Sam put out a Facebook post asking his Twin Cities friends if they knew any christian girls looking for a roommate. A few days later he got a reply with a link to a Craigslist advertisement. A group of 7 christian girls were looking for an eight roommate to join them in their town house near the U of M, Twin Cities. The rent seemed affordable, it was a good location, and they were christian girls who were mostly all in college. It seemed a little too good to be true, so I decided to trust in God rather than jump ahead of the game. I sent an email to the one who put out the ad, just to see if they would get back to me. They wanted someone by November 1st, and it was already October 24th, so I asked them if they would be willing to extend the deadline. I got a reply the next day.

The coordinator told me that she thought I would be a great fit for the house, and that the deadline was definitely flexible, and that she meant to change it on the website to December 1st. She connected me with Becca, the house manager, on Facebook, and I decided to come and check out the house on November 1st. It all seemed to be going so fast, so I asked God to give me peace in my heart if it was the right house. I went there that cold, Saturday afternoon with my friend Kelsey (We had gone to a ComicCon that day in Minneapolis. I know, I’m a nerd). We walked up to the cute house with twinkle lights on the outside, and a large chalkboard sign that read “Welcome to House 728!” We were greeted by Becca at the door and invited in. The house seemed so warm and cozy, a place I could definitely find myself at home in. She showed us the two living rooms, kitchen/dining room, the study room, the three bedrooms, two bathrooms, and the prayer room. There wasn’t a single thing about the house that I didn’t like. I had gone there expecting to be disappointed, afraid that I had been rushing things and that all of it seemed too good to be true, but the more I talked with Becca about the house, the more excited I got. I felt the peace in my heart that I had prayed for, and I knew that this was where God wanted me to live.

So now I had a place to live, but I didn’t want to move until I actually had a job (I was broke, remember?). I spent the next week submitting resume after resume for various receptionist jobs. I really wanted to become a receptionist. I love administration tasks and organization and office work. I could literally stand at a copying machine scanning documents for hours and find that fun (I know because I’ve done it). However, finding a company who is willing to hire a receptionist with absolutely no professional experience is almost impossible. After submitting 31 resumes to 31 different companies without a single response, I decided to look elsewhere. I applied at Target, which I know seems lame, but I could at least work there until I found another job. They called be back the next day, and three days later I went in for an interview as nervous as ever.

I think that it’s safe the say that this was my first real interview, the one where you show up an hour early just to make sure you aren’t late and bring ten extra copies of your resume in a nice, crisp folder because you’re afraid you will drop them in the snow or lose half of them. (It seems a little extreme, but that’s my paranoid INFJ personality coming through). This was it, no more small town grocery stores where you knew all of the customers by name, I was headed into the first target store ever built where the number of employees made up about a third of my hometown. I was offered a job on the spot with a starting rate more than what I was previously making. Although it was not the job I had in mind, it was the job God wanted me to have.

One week later, I would find myself moving into a house with seven christian girls and starting the job that God called me to work at. It seemed to be turning out so much better and quicker than I previously expected, which I think happens when we learn to trust God completely. He provides.

One thought on “Philippians 4:19 {God will supply my needs}

Leave a Reply

