I am Chosen {Finding my Identity in Christ}

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.” John 10:10

Those of you have been keeping up with my posts know that these last eight months haven’t been easy for me. They’ve been filled with many trials and hardships, a constant uphill struggle. I’ve shared lots of posts about how to be thankful for trials, being patient in struggles, and trusting God even when it seems like all hope is lost. I’ve been waiting for the day when I could finally share with you about winning the battle and finally making it to victory, and now that day is here!

I have realized that all of the trials, all of the pain, it was all leading up to my identity. For the first time in my life, I truly know what it means to find your identity in Christ. I used to find my identity in my financial status, my work ethic, my achievements, how many times my boss would give me compliments on my hard work in a single week, and so many other things. I was always striving because I felt like I needed to prove myself to my boss, my coworkers, and my family that I was good enough. But no matter how hard I tried, I never felt like I was enough. But I have learned that I am already ENOUGH, I am LOVED, I am PERFECT, and I am CHOSEN. And you know what? SO ARE YOU

In April, God promised that I was going to have a season of joy ahead. However, there was a brick wall in front of me that represented all of the lies that I believed; that I didn’t work hard enough, that I was a failure, that I wasn’t enough. He said that in order to bring me to the next stage of joy in my life, I had to first break down the wall of lies that I believed. I had to find my identity in Christ so that He could give me the blessings He planned for me. I am very confident that the next few months are not going to be like the last eight; they are going to be full of joy, new beginnings, I’m finally going to start living the life I was destined to live. There will still be trials, but knowing that I was able to overcome the fight for my identity, with God I can overcome anything. I feel that God has been stripping away every lie, every chain, every wound, and every worldly thing I found security in, until all that was left of me was Him. He broke me down in order to build me back up again.

“But He knows where I am going. And when He tests me, I will come out as pure as gold.” Job 23:10

YOU are CHOSEN

YOU are LOVED

YOU are PERFECT

YOU are ACCEPTED

YOU are HIS

There will still be trials, but I am holding onto the one who created the universe, who spoke the earth into existence and taught the wind to dance and the stars to shine, and He is holding onto me. Whenever I feel my grasp slipping, He holds on even tighter. I can surely tell you that this new sense of identity and joy wouldn’t be present in my life without the trials, the loneliness, and the pain. It only made me stronger and flourished my relationship with God. I think it’s funny that the devil tried so hard to keep me from finding my true identity, and yet it’s the very thing that made me find my identity in Christ.

Your tears will dry

Your heart will mend

Your scars will heal

And you will dance again

~Dance Again {Life Worship}

*Like what you see? Don’t forget to click the “Follow” button on the right side of the screen. You’ll have to enter your email address, but don’t worry! You don’t need a WordPress account and WordPress won’t send you any unwanted emails. It will just send you an email whenever I publish a new post so you can view it right away. Thank you!

2 thoughts on “I am Chosen {Finding my Identity in Christ}

  1. Praise God for your heart Maddie. God does have great things in store. I understand your thoughts because I have walked it too. Thank you for sharing!!!The morning will come with dancing : )

    Like

Leave a comment